There are numerous federal certifications that business can receive based on location and ownership. Some of these include:

  •  8(a)
  • Alaskan Owned
  • HUBZone
  • Native American Owned
  • Native Hawaiian Owned
  • Small Business
  • Veterans and Service-Disabled Veterans Owned Business
  • Woman-Owned Small Business

For more information on these certifications and how to qualify and register, please visit U.S. Small Business Administration website.

Disadvantage Business Enterprise Certification Program (DBE)

The U.S Department of Transportation has a Disadvantage Business Enterprise certification program (DBE). This federal program attempts to increase the participation of certified DBEs in projects funded by the U.S Department of Transportation and other federal sectors. Projects typically include heavy construction, such as building and designing roads, bridges, railroad, port, and airport. For more information on this certification program, please visit
http://osdbuweb.dot.gov/DBEProgram/index.cfm or http://www.dmbe.virginia.gov/dbecert.html.